Justice David Maraga Kenani is Now the New Chief Justice of Kenya


    Justice David Maraga Kenani is now the new nominated Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya.

    The Judicial Service Commission has nominated Justice David Maraga Kenani for appointment as Chief Justice.

    Justice David Maraga Kenani’s name will be forwarded to the President, Uhuru Kenyatta, for a formal appointment and forwarded to National Assembly for approval by MPs.

    Maraga, 66, was named the top candidate after beating a list of 13 candidates who applied to be the Chief Justice, candidates included Supreme Court judges Jackton Boma Ojwang’ and Smokin Wanjala, outspoken law scholar Makau Mutua among others.

    If approved, Maraga will take over from Justice Willy Mutunga who retired from office a few months ago. JSC received 14 applications for the vacancy of Chief Justice after advertising the position.

    The applicants were: Justice Alnashir Visram, Lady Justice Roselyne N. Nambuye, Justice Mbogholi Msagha, Prof. Makau Mutua, Justice Smokin Wanjala, Mr. David Mwaure Waihiga, Justice David Maraga, Dr. Isaac Rutenberg, Rtd Justice Aaron Ringera, Mr. Philip Nzamba Kitonga, Ms. Lucy Wanja Julius, Justice Prof. Jackton Ojwang, Mr. Kongani Udoto Kongani Paul Andrew and Amb. Daniel Wambura.

    Below is the list of Kenya’s Chief Justices since independence.

    Independent Kenya Chief Justices          Period Served

    Sir John Ainsley                                                 1963- 1968

    Arthur Dennis Farrel                                       1968

    Kitili Mwendwa                                                 1968 -1971

    Sir James Wicks                                                 1971 – 1982

    Sir Alfred Henry Simpson                              1982 – 1985

    Chunilal Bhagwandas Madan                      1985 – 1986

    Cecil Henry Ethelwood Miller                      1986 – 1989

    Robin Allan Winston Hancox                       1989 – 1993

    Fred Kwasi Apaloo                                           1993 – 1994

    Abdul Majid Cockar                                         1994 – 1997

    Zachaeus Richard Chesoni                            1997 – 1999

    Bernard Chunga                                               1999 – 2003

    Johnson Evans Gicheru                                 2003 – 2011

    Willy Munyoki Mutunga                                2011 – 2016

    0 0 votes
    Article Rating
    Notify of

    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments