ODM expels rebels and demands by-elections

    Raila Odinga during the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) National Governing Council(Photo -Nation Media group )

    The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) on Monday, October 31, 2016, expelled 10 leaders from its party who had openly defected to the Jubilee Party.

    The list includes the following the expulsion list are former Secretary General and now Labour Party of Kenya leader Ababu Namwamba, Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya, Mathare MP Steven Kariuki and nominated MP Isaac Mwaura.

    The Party leader said that no defiant leader will be tolerated, this came moments after rebellious ODM MPs Richard Onyonka (Kitutu Chache South) and his Bomachoge Chache counterpart Simon Ogari apologized to ODM party leader Raila Odinga, saying Jubilee Party refused to honor their promises.

    The party will is going to write to the  Registrar of Political Parties on its decision paving way for the announcement of the seats held by the leaders to be declared vacant and by-elections declared.

    The ODM leader said this is just a beginning and the same whip will crap to others who have thoughts of leaving the party.CORD is comprised of smaller parties including Ford Kenya and Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper.

    This comes at a time when The IEBC commissioners resigned after pressure from masses to pave way for a new commission which will oversee the general election.

    Raila Odinga said that the party is strong and that they are ready to support one of their own. Last week the party removed key parliament committees in a move to discipline errant members who have decamped or openly declared their desire to work with the rival Jubilee Party.

    0 0 votes
    Article Rating
    Notify of

    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments